AusCP-CTN Newsletter, December 2017

19 Dec 2017

A year to celebrate! Welcome to the first AusCP-CTN Newsletter, December 2017.

As the first year of the Australasian Cerebral Palsy Clinical Trials Network Centre (AusCP-CTN) for Research Excellence draws to a close, now is the time to breathe out and celebrate the great work achieved throughout 2017. We have ticked off many activities that would make Santa proud and place us firmly on the "nice" list for our dedication and commitment to improving outcomes for children with cerebral palsy. Highlights include:

  • hosting valuable training and education events in a mammoth program featuring experts from around the globe,

  • shining the spotlight on cerebral palsy research through our Hot Topics in CP research event;

  • helping parents around the world through our involvement in a world-first cerebral palsy app; and

  • honing the grant writing skills of network members, clinicians and researchers from around Australia through an intensive grant writing workshop hosted by some of Australia's leading researchers.

AusCP-CTN Newsletter, December 2017

While it is clear our activities have been many and varied in 2017, next year promises to be even better! Many across the network are celebrating NHMRC grant successes that will see them commencing new projects in 2018, and we have proudly announced a range of higher research degree opportunities that will hopefully spur a new generation of researchers to be interested in early diagnosis and intervention to improve outcomes for children with CP around the world. 

We hope you enjoy reading about some of the highlights from our first year and - whether you are a network member, parent, researcher, clinician, or one of our many supporters - we wish you a happy and safe holiday season.

Warm regards,

The AUSCP-CTN Chief Investigator Team

Professor Roslyn BoydProfessor Iona Novak, Professor Morrison Euan Wallace AM, Professor Nadia BadawiAssociate Professor Michael Fahey, Professor Stephen Rose, Professor Paul Colditz, Professor Jenny Ziviani, Professor Catherine Elliott and Professor Susan Stott.